Oh, my. I think we stayed up too late last night! Plus, the train came by about once an hour blowing it's horn. If you ever stay at an airport hotel in Portland, check to see that it's not near the railroad tracks!
I woke up at almost 10am, and I was the first one up. Breakfast was over at 10, so let's just assume they didn't have those great waffles.
John III had a lot more luggage than we'd anticipated, so we took it all to the car and Super-Packer went to work. I didn't make my goal of nothing blocking the driver's sight, but it did an amazing job. Wish I had a picture, but he trunk had to be shut like an over-filled cabinet!
We had a very late breakfast at Elmer's Diner across the street. Yummy!
Then we drove to Multnomah Falls. We hiked halfway up one of the falls. They were beautiful.
Then we went downtown and checked in to the Embassy Suites. Oh, man it's pretty -- and large! It was built in the early 1900's as the Mutnomah Hotel.
Picture to be added....
Once we got settled, we headed out for the waterfront and took a little stroll. Next stop, The Japanese Gardens. Amazin how one city block can feel so big. Then on to Rogue Brewery/Distillery. We had a flight of beers (one was root beer, and it was delicious)! Then a nice walk back to the hotel to get ther in time for the drinks and snacks.
At the manager's reception, we got some dinner ideas. The first one we thought about trying was closed! The second was closed, too! Then we saw Huber's and stopped there. What a beautiful building. Built in the early 1900's with tall archways and lots of dark rich wood. The food was great, too. Turkey and dressing, with cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes and we all shared a crime brûlée for dessert.
After dinner we needed to walk a bit. We found our way back to the hotel, and then to Voodoo Doughnuts. Finally the line was short enough! We got a bacon maple creme, a Fruit Loops, a Bavarian creme filled, and an Oreo Cookie. We got back to the room and had just a bite of each and had to put them away. They were quite good, but we were so stuffed!
Pictures to be added....
Tomorrow there's more to do in and around Portland, and then drive on to Seattle. We'd better make sure we get up before 10!
No comments:
Post a Comment